2017 Woollahra Small Sculpture Finalists

Small, refined and focused, this year's Woollahra Small Sculpture returns to challenge Australian artists to concentrate their efforts on the micro.

The 47 finalists have been selected from 675 entrants by guest judges – curator, writer, artist, activist and first Indigenous judge for the Prize Djon Mundine, OAM; Executive Director, Artspace, Sydney and Curator, Encounters, Art Basel | Hong Kong Alexie Glass-Kantor; and gallerist and benefactor Roslyn Oxley, OAM.

Entrants are challenged to create an original, freestanding sculpture measuring up to 80cm in any dimension.

Speaking of the increasing relevance of the small scale , Djon Mundine, OAM, commented “We’re in an age where there are so many gigantic artworks, so many gigantic projections, that it’s really good for something that focuses on ‘the god of small things’”.

Works span a range of materials including stone, ceramic, paper, thread, wire, metal, resin and electronic detritus. The works
address political, social, personal and playful themes and show a high standard.

The 2017 finalist artists are: NOT (NSW); Abdul-Rahman Abdullah (WA); Sally Blake (ACT); Lauren Brincat (NSW); Angela
Butler (NSW); Penny Byrne (VIC); Peter Cooley (NSW); Selena de Carvalho (TAS); Tracey Deep (NSW); Mariana del
Castillo (NSW); Lynda Draper (NSW); Mark Dubner (NSW); Merran Esson (NSW); Emma Fielden (NSW); Stevie Fieldsend
(NSW); Trevor Fry (NSW); Natalie Guy (NZ); Lizzie Hall (NSW); David Hamilton (TAS); Michael Harrell (NSW); Tevita
Havea (NSW); Sergio Hernandez (NSW); Bianca Hester (NSW); Alison Hill (QLD); Phil James (NSW); Michelle Kirk (NSW);
Mike Kitching (NSW); Rene Kulitja (NT); Claire Lambe (VIC); Guy Maestri (NSW); Sanné Mestrom (VIC); Dan Moynihan
(VIC); John Nicholson (NSW); Karin Olah (NSW); Kenny Pittock (VIC); Rodney Pople (NSW); Louis Pratt (NSW); Madeleine Preston (NSW); Julia Robinson (SA); Giles Ryder (VIC); Huseyin Sami (NSW); Michael Snape (NSW); Andrew
Southall (VIC); Abdullah Syed M I (NSW); Richard Tipping (NSW); Mark Titmarsh (NSW); Peter Vandermark (ACT).

The Prize attracts a diverse range of professional and emerging sculptors from around the world with a total of $24,000
in prize money awarded to winning artists across four categories. The Prize categories are the main acquisitive award,
increased this year from $15,000 to $20,000; a Special Commendation award of $2,000; the Viewers’ Choice award of
$1,000; and the Mayors Prize of $1,000.

A free exhibition of finalist’s art works for the 17th annual Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize will be presented this year for an increased period of three weeks, from 14 October until 5 November 2017 at Woollahra Council in Sydney. The winners will be announced on 13 October 2017.

17th annual Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize
14 October – 5 November 2017
Woollahra Council, Sydney

Courtesy the artists and the 17th annual Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize.

Latest  /  Most Viewed  /  Related